Ram 3500 towing capacity

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ramit90

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 cummings
Hey guys I'm new here on this forum. Let me start out by saying I'm about to go to basic training for the air force and I have 2 cars at the moment and would like to to get a 3rd in a couple years. My wife does not like to drive so that me an excuse to start looking for trucks. Since the air force doesn't pay to ship my vehicles I want to get a 2nd gen 3500. I always loved how these trucks looked. I will also like get a 3 car hauler. My question is is there any way to beef up the towing of this truck. I looked up the towing capacity of this truck and it is only 10 to 12k. I'm estimating that I will be towing more like 20k. I'm new to towing so I would be appriaciste any advice. Thanks guys.

Merc225hp

Reaction score
Ram Year
truck
Engine
gas
Simple, get a truck that's rated for that weight.

Magnum5.9

Reaction score
Ram Year
01 ram 1500 4x4
Engine
Magnum 5.9
Simple, get a truck that's rated for that weight.

Ya what he said.. these 2nd gens just were not made to tow/haul alot... for example my 5.9 1500 can only handle max trailer of about 7000 lbs tho I would never do more than 4000/5000

MADDOG

Not RamForum Staff
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Yeah, you are gonna have to go up a bit on a truck to do that.

OP
OP
R

Ramit90

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 cummings
Thanks guys that's what I was afraid of.

mitchbowers

Reaction score
Ram Year
1996 2500 5-speed, soon to be leveled on 33's
Engine
5.9 Magnum
that's not the rating for a CTD is it? My 3/4 gas is rated for 12-ish I think

cptwing

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 3500 ST DRW REG CAB
Engine
6.4l Hemi
It all depends a lot on the axle ratio. 4:10 rear is gonna tow a lot more than a 3:55 rear etc. As you said the max towing