Any advantages with a K&N Drop in or intake on 2016 3500 6.7 CTD

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Inthewind

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7 HO, AISIN
Cummins newbie here. Traded up to my first diesel from a 6.4 Hemi 2500 Megacab. I know the benefits on a gas engine of a K&N Drop in or cold air intake but curious if they're the same with a TD? Having never owned one I thought I'd come to the place with the most knowledge!

Power247

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 HEMI
The stock air box is good for 500 HP so you will not see any performance gain with a drop in filter or aftermarket CAI.

At most a CAI will get you so more turbo whistle sound from under the hood. You have to be extra careful with oiled filters because you don't want to let any extra oil coating the turbo blades.

Greg
2012 | 2500 | CCLB | Custom MCC by Double R Diesel

OP
OP
Inthewind

Inthewind

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7 HO, AISIN
The stock air box is good for 500 HP so you will not see any performance gain with a drop in filter or aftermarket CAI.

At most a CAI will get you so more turbo whistle sound from under the hood. You have to be extra careful with oiled filters because you don't want to let any extra oil coating the turbo blades.

Greg

Thanks Greg, thats definitely good to know info.

OP
OP
Inthewind

Inthewind

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7 HO, AISIN
What about bolt on exhaust upgrades? My primary use is going to be towing a 12k 5th wheel so I'm trying to remain somewhat conservative for now.

Power247

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 HEMI
Np man. Unless you plan on tuning and deleting emissions, anything else is just for show. DPF back exhaust setups have no effect on the performance of the truck. The factory muffler is really just a resonator.