Slow brake pedal return

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

991500quad

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.2 318
I am new to this but need some help. I have a 99 1500 quad cab with a 318 and a manual transmission I have recently been experiencing slow brake pedal return (anywhere from 2-8 seconds). After a little research and $250, I still have the same problem.

What I have done;
-I replaced;
Power booster
Master cylinder
Vac. hose from intake to booster
-I bled the brakes )furthest from the MC to the closest
-lubed the pivot the brake arm is attached to
-scratched my head.

Some reading was telling me the booster was bad so that is why I replaced that. a little more reading and locals said it sounded like a bad MC so I replaced that. What clued me onto this was braking at a stop sign, letting off and seeing my trailer brake controller was on (normally is when brakes are applied). Thinking this was odd, I lifted the brake pedal with my foot to see if the light would go off and it did. I remembered my parents had the same issue on their 99 durango but don't remember what fixed it.

Never the less, over the last few weeks, I have dealt with the pedal slowly returning but enough is enough, I want it fixed. Camping season is coming, as soon as the snow melts.

A few people have said to adjust the light switch but that wont speed the pedal return up and others have said a spring but again, something must be wrong for the pedal to act like this.

I have recently read something about the the rear brake pistons????? is this a sign of worn brake shoes in the rear??

Like I said this was a sudden issue. One day all was well and the very next the problem started.