Showing off what I've learned. Paint correction in progress.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tipnitty

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
So I've been working on a paint correction on my car (did some work on my truck as well). And figured I would post some of my steps and before and after for those that are thinking about doing one themselves. I figured I would make a thread about my detailing adventures and the products I'll be using. I'll update this as I go along and am more than willing to answer any question I can. Also open to any advice anyone may have. I don't have pictures during most of the use of the products right now, but will in the future updates.

I've been researching for a few months on what I wanted to use. I wanted to do this on a budget, but do the best job that I could. There are other methods you can use. But here is the supplies I used.

Harbor Fright DA
Lake County Orange
Lake County White
Lake County Black
Meguiars M105
Meguiars M205
Colinite 845 sealant
Medium grade clay bar
Chemical Guys Clay Lube
Chemical Guy Grime Reaper
Chemical Guys Black on Black
Sonax Wheel Cleaner
2 Bucket Method with grig guards
A few orders with The Rag Company Home Page

So here is how my car started. As you can see the paint is swirled to complete hell and it looks just terrible. It was irritating from the day I bought my car, but I just kind of dealt with it.
2D7Aam9.png
QsWun1U.png
jTdrEEC.png

So my first steps were as follows:

-2 Bucket wash method
-Drying the car with a leaf blower

Once I dried the car. I clay barred the car. This Chemical Guy Clay Luber can be concentrated. I dilluted it to a 4:1 water : product. Be generous with how much lube you use and work each panel until the clay will glide with no resistance.
JvFXZ4o.png