2013 Ram 1500 integrated trailer brake controller installation

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

helidump

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
2013 Ram 1500 integrated trailer brake controller installation questions

Hello all,

I'm a newb on this forum and I just bought a 2013 Ram 1500 ST with the 5.7 Hemi and the towing package but with no integrated trailer brake controller installed. When I bought it I figured I could just add an aftermarket controller later but I just found out that might not be an option right now due to the new "powernet" multiplex wiring on the truck. Doing a bit of research on the interweb I have found various confusing and conflicting stories of how to install brake controllers on the 2013 trucks. My main problem is where are the connectors for the factory module and if I don't have them what do I do? Does anyone have a picture of what the connectors look like and where they are on a 2013 Ram? I am going in to the dealer on Tuesday so I was going to ask them then but I wanted to get some information first so they don't try and sell me a controller that won't fit on my truck without some more expensive wiring harnesses and computer upgrades. Has anyone heard of an aftermarket brake controller that has a harness compatible with the 2013 Ram? The Tekonsha Website shows 3 different harnesses for the 2013 Ram 1500 but from what I found out there is a tech bulletin from Tekonsha saying that aftermarket wiring can damage the vehicles electrical system. Has this been worked out yet?

Thanks

Richard

Last edited:

New2Ram

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
I am wondering this same thing, subscribed to hear the replies.
Thanks

Bigdaddy

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2022 3500 Laramie CCLB
Engine
6.7L Diesel Cummins
Wow, I would check the dealer.

tprice9427

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7