2014 Ram 1500 Express Towing...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mrodaz

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Ok I'm new to this so please bare with me. I am loooking to tow a toy hauler with a bone stock 2014 Ram 1500 Express. Trailer weighs 6500 lbs dry, once loaded with my RZR that would put us around 8300 lbs not including anything else in the trailer. I am wondering how much weight I can safely haul with passengers and cargo.

please please help...

GsRAM

Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 Dodge Ram 2500
Engine
Hemi, 6.4L
I think you'll be over your payload limit with that rig.

What is your payload limit on your yellow door jamb sticker?

From that figure subtract the weight of all passengers and cargo in the truck, the weight of the weight distribution hitch (you'll need one ) and the tongue weight of the trailer, which on that rig is likely in the 1000 lb range or so, perhaps a little less since its a TH.

You probably have a payload in the 1500 lb range or so, so that's only 500lb left for weight of all passengers, cargo and the wdh. Probably a no go unfortunately.

Half tons have artifically high tow ratings. They many times will run out of payload long before they hit the tow rating. Good luck.

silver surfer

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Agreed. Payload is not very high on the Ram half-tons. IMO, your rig is way too heavy. You might be ABLE to pull it, but I can almost guarantee you won't enjoy the experience.

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
The payload maybe on the low side on Rams but it is not the determining factor for towing.