5th wheel tow prep group question (rambox or group)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

cc rider

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
Im trying to decide how i will be towing my 5er. I am new to them by the way. I know ram wont do a build with the rambox (which i "kind" of want) and the 5er group. I know some guys have towed a 5er with the rambox. What exactly is the tow prep group? I mean what does it look like under the bed. Do they just drill the 5 holes and then the quick connect mounts are bolted to the frame? Is it one big frame attached to the frame? I know they run the wiring to the adapter at the end of the bed where you plug in. Thats nice to have right there (no aftermarket hack jobs). And I know how it works. You buy a hitch and the frame/rails and they clip in to the holes. Im just trying to picture how it looks under the bed. Here are some good pics in this link:

RamGunner.com : The 5th Wheel/Gooseneck Towing Prep Package

I am thinking of going with this type of gooseneck adapter setup if I get the rambox:

Convert-A-Ball Cushioned 5th-Wheel-to-Gooseneck Adapter - 12" to 16" Tall - 20,000 lbs Convert-A-Ball Gooseneck and Fifth Wheel Adapters CAB-C5G

Thanks a lot guys!

14hemiexpress

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4l
I just reviewed your links and the tow prep looks like the way to go for me. I don't know what the under side looks like but it must the attached to the frame some how.

The fifth wheel to goose neck also looks cool never seen it before I bet it's nice not having to worry about removeing the hitch if you need to make use of the bed just get a hidden ball that flips.

If it was me I would get the tow group and put a low profile tool box in the bed and call it a day. The wireing is factory done the holes are cut in the bed from the factory it takes any guess work out later.