Ball Mount, vertical vs angled (custom Fab)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

U&A

Reaction score
Ram Year
2016 3500 SRW
Engine
6.4 HEMI
i have been researching ball mounts for my 1 ton (2.5" receiver). after looking around a lot, seeing the high prices on the nicer ones and realizing what all I REALLY need. i will most likely only be towing 1 of 2 trailers that I have and they both are identical heights (at the ball mount) from the ground.... I am going to make my own as I am a welder/drafter at my work. I have 2 CAD drawings made up. I am beefing them up substantially with thicker materials and bigger bracing.

my question,
I see 2 different types of drop down ball mounts. one that drops straight down from the receiver and another the has the slight outward angle (towards trailer).

VERTICAL
https://www.etrailer.com/Ball-Mounts/Husky-Liners/HL17251.html

The only benefit i can see with this is the tongue weight is closer to being directly under the receiver so the weight is technically closer to the truck/axle making less torque, and not magnifying the weight. also, structurally there is less stress on the ball mount geometry being vertical so you would think this design can take more weight.

ANGLED
https://www.etrailer.com/Ball-Mounts/Curt/C45427.html
well, i cant see what the benefit of this would be. anyone?

I think I am going to go with the vertical design but still looking for opinions on the pros and cons of the 2 types.

Thank you.

Last edited:

14hemiexpress

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4l
Hate being this guy I really do but is $100 really worth building one over? Not to question your ability as a welder but if that thing comes sort for some weird reason that's a lot of liability on you for 100 bucks.

OP
OP
U&A

U&A

Reaction score
Ram Year
2016 3500 SRW
Engine
6.4 HEMI