Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Dodge Truck Forums > Dodge Ram Generations Forum > 4th Gen : 2009 - Present > Towing & Hauling


Towing & Hauling

Brake Controller


This is a discussion on Brake Controller within the Towing & Hauling forums, part of the 4th Gen : 2009 - Present category!
Help! Just traded my 14 Ram 1500 for a 15 3500 duelie, i hooked up to my camper the other ...


Like Tree226Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2015, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Albemarle NC
Posts: 54

Ram Year: 2015 3500
Engine: 6.7 Cummins
Default Brake Controller
Help! Just traded my 14 Ram 1500 for a 15 3500 duelie, i hooked up to my camper the other day and the brakes barely work on the trailer, everything was fine with the old truck, both have factory controllers and were set to light electric, i tried the heavy electric option but no luck, i used a voltmeter on the trailer plug on the truck and it only showed 10.5 volts fully applied, does anyone know what the voltage should be on these controllers?


Sponsored Ad
Register to remove this ad.
Kwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 06:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
loveracing1988's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Clarkston, MI
Posts: 3,330

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 6.4
Default
You set the gain identical? To me they should be 12 volts but I'm just guessing.


__________________
loveracing1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 07:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Albemarle NC
Posts: 54

Ram Year: 2015 3500
Engine: 6.7 Cummins
Default
Yes everything the same and even turned up the gain
Kwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 08:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oakland Township, Michigan
Posts: 702

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: 6.7L Cummins
Default
Originally Posted by Kwhite View Post
Help! Just traded my 14 Ram 1500 for a 15 3500 duelie, i hooked up to my camper the other day and the brakes barely work on the trailer, everything was fine with the old truck, both have factory controllers and were set to light electric, i tried the heavy electric option but no luck, i used a voltmeter on the trailer plug on the truck and it only showed 10.5 volts fully applied, does anyone know what the voltage should be on these controllers?
Heavy electric for greater than 10K pounds (owners' manual). You should see close to 12 volts (engine running) and just under 6 amps for each trailer brake axle when the gain is at 10 (100%) and the trailer brake slide is moved all the way.

This is an issue seen by myself on my 2015 RAM 3500 and others. My tuck is currently in the shop having this issue looked at (I'm not getting the warm and fuzzy they understand the issue or how to diagnose). My 13K pound Montana pushed me into an intersection when I attempted a hard stop, sure glad the intersection was clear.

There is a discussion going on here about this issue. The thread got a little cloudy with folks not understand the differences between proportional and static braking. I've posted a scope trace of normal working and my 2015 ITBM outputs. No matter what I set, I can't get more than 63% (about 6.8 volts) output from my ITBM to the trailer brakes.

2013 integrated trailer brake control problem - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
smiley3303 likes this.

Last edited by BossHogg; 08-07-2015 at 08:39 AM.
BossHogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 08:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Albemarle NC
Posts: 54

Ram Year: 2015 3500
Engine: 6.7 Cummins
Default
Thank you my trailer is only 7000 lbs and i noticed it right away, i really dont know the difference in the type controllers but i dont understand why there would be a difference from my 2014 1500, i called the service dept at the dealer and he had no clue, i guess my next step is to bring the truck to the dealer
nadesico25 likes this.
Kwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
PippinAin'tEasy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Age: 40
Posts: 699

Ram Year: 2016
Engine: Hemi 6.4
Default
Anyone know if this is an issue across the board with the new 3500's? All I see so far are the DRW diesels reporting. Any news on the SRW's or gassers?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I547 using Tapatalk


__________________
"Maturity is not learning to swallow people's bullshit. Maturity is learning to refrain from gracing it with yer shoe." ~Rob Ernest - Troubadour and Sub-Genius
PippinAin'tEasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 09:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oakland Township, Michigan
Posts: 702

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: 6.7L Cummins
Default
Originally Posted by PippinAin'tEasy View Post
Anyone know if this is an issue across the board with the new 3500's? All I see so far are the DRW diesels reporting. Any news on the SRW's or gassers?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I547 using Tapatalk
The ITBM is the same for all RAMs. I have the issue with SRW.
BossHogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 09:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
loveracing1988's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Clarkston, MI
Posts: 3,330

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 6.4
Default
Now you guys make me want to check mine out... I loved the one in my 1500 but I haven't messed with the one in my 2500.


__________________
loveracing1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 11:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oakland Township, Michigan
Posts: 702

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: 6.7L Cummins
Default
Originally Posted by loveracing1988 View Post
Now you guys make me want to check mine out... I loved the one in my 1500 but I haven't messed with the one in my 2500.
I'd check it unless you want to find out about it like I did, having your 13,000 pound fiver push you into an intersection because you couldn't stop in time, it was a fast chaining traffic light (Van Dyke south bound at 34 mile). Fortunately the intersection was clear.
BossHogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 11:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
loveracing1988's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Clarkston, MI
Posts: 3,330

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 6.4
Default
Originally Posted by BossHogg View Post
I'd check it unless you want to find out about it like I did, having your 13,000 pound fiver push you into an intersection because you couldn't stop in time, it was a fast chaining traffic light (Van Dyke south bound at 34 mile). Fortunately the intersection was clear.
Look at the bright side, you weren't on 59!


__________________
loveracing1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake controller erice Towing & Hauling 3 04-01-2015 06:46 PM
Bulldog tuner, brake controller, third brake light scottie d For Sale 16 03-25-2015 12:34 PM
OEM Controller vs Voyager Brake Controller Long Islander Towing & Hauling 18 06-24-2014 02:56 PM
brake controller grzmnky Towing & Hauling 6 07-30-2013 05:22 PM
Brake Gain display option without brake controller??? mdj1281 Towing & Hauling 10 04-15-2013 08:27 PM

<




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum