Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Dodge Truck Forums > Dodge Ram Generations Forum > 4th Gen : 2009 - Present > Towing & Hauling


Towing & Hauling

Brake Controller


This is a discussion on Brake Controller within the Towing & Hauling forums, part of the 4th Gen : 2009 - Present category!
How do you test if you don't have a trailer? I'd like to check mine out....


Like Tree226Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2015, 11:38 PM   #21 (permalink)
 
jadocs's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 689

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 6.7
Default
How do you test if you don't have a trailer? I'd like to check mine out.


Sponsored Ad
Register to remove this ad.


__________________
Using Tapatalk
jadocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 09:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
 
PippinAin'tEasy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Age: 40
Posts: 699

Ram Year: 2016
Engine: Hemi 6.4
Default
Originally Posted by jadocs View Post
How do you test if you don't have a trailer? I'd like to check mine out.
Buy a 7pin plug and keep the receipt. Plug it in half way, chk the voltage to each lead and return for refund. OR... go rent a travel trailer, take yer lady out for the weekend and have fun with the experiment.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I547 using Tapatalk
jadocs likes this.


__________________
"Maturity is not learning to swallow people's bullshit. Maturity is learning to refrain from gracing it with yer shoe." ~Rob Ernest - Troubadour and Sub-Genius
PippinAin'tEasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 09:22 PM   #23 (permalink)
 
jadocs's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 689

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 6.7
Default
Thanks man


__________________
Using Tapatalk
jadocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 12:42 AM   #24 (permalink)
 
PippinAin'tEasy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Age: 40
Posts: 699

Ram Year: 2016
Engine: Hemi 6.4
Default
Originally Posted by BossHogg View Post
Amen!



That is the question I'm trying to get answered, my 3500 is at the dealer now, should have it back with answers Monday.

I don't know if it is a faulty ITBM or a software calibration issues. I don't even know if all 2015s have the issue but I know I'm not the only one with this issue.

My biggest concern is they are going to tell me nothing is wrong and it is working as designed, the default babble when they don't know how to diagnose an issue.

I posted scope shots of the trailer brake line (in the cummins forum thread), one with a working ITBM and my 2015 tow vehicle, the scope shots clearly show my 2015 is only outputting 63% power to the trailer brakes.

Brake slider all the way pushed (100%), 100% output from ITBM 12.6 amps measured on the trailer brake wire.


Brake slider all the way pushed (100%), 63% output from ITBM 6.1 amps measured on the trailer brake wire.
Any news from the Great and Powerful Stealership?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I547 using Tapatalk


__________________
"Maturity is not learning to swallow people's bullshit. Maturity is learning to refrain from gracing it with yer shoe." ~Rob Ernest - Troubadour and Sub-Genius
PippinAin'tEasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 04:13 AM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oakland Township, Michigan
Posts: 711

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: 6.7L Cummins
Default
Originally Posted by PippinAin'tEasy View Post
Any news from the Great and Powerful Stealership?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I547 using Tapatalk
Not yet, they have had the truck since last Thursday sitting in their queue, many recall vehicles ahead of me.

I did get a call from them yesterday asking if I saw a check engine light or any other message while towing, and I didn't. The service writer told me my truck is in the repair bay and they have Chrysler on the line working on the issue.

May be today I will get better answers.

On a positive note, my son's friend took delivery of a 3500 about the same time I did. He has the same issue with his goose neck toy hauler. The difference is he works for Chrysler and sent an email to the ITBM release engineer asking for help.

This issue may have the attention level needed to get addressed.

Last edited by BossHogg; 08-12-2015 at 07:24 AM.
BossHogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 09:51 PM   #26 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Albemarle NC
Posts: 55

Ram Year: 2015 3500
Engine: 6.7 Cummins
Default
Please let me know if you find out anything im taking my truck to the dealer next week
Kwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:26 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: SoCal
Age: 35
Posts: 10

Ram Year: 2013
Engine: Hemi 5.7 CNG
Default
Sorry to hijack...

I have a Prodigy RF controller from my SUV. Should I stick with that or the factory controller on my new-to me-2012 2500? How do I disconnect the factory controller if I go that route?

Thanks!
trailerCaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 04:06 AM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oakland Township, Michigan
Posts: 711

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: 6.7L Cummins
Default
The dealer still has my truck, one week as of yesterday morning. I don't think they know how to troubleshoot the issue. The ITBM isn't that complicated and it shouldn't take more than two days to troubleshoot and fix. It only took me two hours to discover the low output issue after 60%.

I'm not really sure where to go from here, I want what I paid for to work. Just in case, I order the Prodigy P2 cable for the 2015 RAM. I can use the P2 for my upcoming vacation to mange the fiver's brakes.
BossHogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 04:22 AM   #29 (permalink)
 
loveracing1988's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Clarkston, MI
Posts: 3,370

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 6.4
Default
Originally Posted by BossHogg View Post
The dealer still has my truck, one week as of yesterday morning. I don't think they know how to troubleshoot the issue. The ITBM isn't that complicated and it shouldn't take more than two days to troubleshoot and fix. It only took me two hours to discover the low output issue after 60%.

I'm not really sure where to go from here, I want what I paid for to work. Just in case, I order the Prodigy P2 cable for the 2015 RAM. I can use the P2 for my upcoming vacation to mange the fiver's brakes.
Which dealer has you truck?


__________________
loveracing1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 07:43 AM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oakland Township, Michigan
Posts: 711

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: 6.7L Cummins
Default
Originally Posted by loveracing1988 View Post
Which dealer has you truck?
Southfield Chrysler
BossHogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake controller erice Towing & Hauling 3 04-01-2015 06:46 PM
Bulldog tuner, brake controller, third brake light scottie d For Sale 16 03-25-2015 12:34 PM
OEM Controller vs Voyager Brake Controller Long Islander Towing & Hauling 18 06-24-2014 02:56 PM
brake controller grzmnky Towing & Hauling 6 07-30-2013 05:22 PM
Brake Gain display option without brake controller??? mdj1281 Towing & Hauling 10 04-15-2013 08:27 PM

<




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum