Duratracs for towing

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

smurfs_of_war

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Has anybody run the E rated duratracs for pulling a decent sized TT? Everyone I talk to raves about them, and I am hard pressed to find any negative feedback online. To me they feel very loose in steering. Like a water balloon. Pressures are good. I am thinking that feeling will transfer to the trailer in a negative way.

Anybody have some real world input?

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

h2oman

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
While I have no experience with this tire at all, I cannot imagine how they conclude that a mud terrain is good for towing. By it's very nature it worst attribute should be on the road.

OP
OP
smurfs_of_war

smurfs_of_war

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
It's classified as an A/T, and given that my BFGs were awesome for towing I gave them a shot. Might be an expensive mistake.

audio1der

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I don't think our rims are rated for the pressure an 'E' rated tires needs.
I'm looking at some Cooper/General tires which each 119XL load rated. Not quite 'E', but should be much better.

OP
OP
smurfs_of_war

smurfs_of_war

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
I don't think our rims are rated for the pressure an 'E' rated tires needs.
I'm looking at some Cooper/General tires which each 119XL load rated. Not quite 'E', but should be much better.

Nope. They aren't. I use the E rates for the stiffer construction and never inflate to max. I inflate to a little over what the P rated would need for the load using the inflation charts for the E rates. I give up some wear, but its worked good in the past. I'll check some out like you mention. These may "bake" a bit yet and improve, but we'll see.

loveracing1988

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine