Payload and Towing Capacity

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

texascab

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I am new to Dodge trucks (switched over from a F250) and now have a 2006 Ram 1500 megacab. from what I understand this is a 3/4 ton chassis with pretty much all the same configuration that the ram 2500 comes with besides the towing and payload capacity.

Is there any way that I could just swap out the current leaf springs in the rear for say the springs off of a 2500 or 3500 to increase capacity?

I would appreciate y'alls advice

noclass

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I think it's only shy 1 leaf on the rear from the 2500

TRCM

USN, Retired
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 1500 Laramie CC 4x4
Engine
5.7 Hemi
to answer your question...no.

Doing that would give you more capacity, but legally, no matter what you do, the way it was built from the factory is the limit you must abide by or risk problems if anything happens.

audio1der

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
^Agreed.
What you're asking is akin to adding air bags and adding that "extra capacity" they advertise to the existing truck's capacity(or adding a CAI, exhaust system and other go-fast parts and cumulatively adding up the "HP increases" of each piece. It doesn't work that way.

USMC1188

Reaction score
Ram Year
None
Engine
Truckless...
What they said... the rear axle is also smaller than the 2500. I believe you have the AAM 10.5 where the 2500 and 3500s have the AAM 11.5 rear ends.

GETARAM

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
also half ton rams are coil springs in the rear not leafs. air bags will stiffen up the ride and reduce squat but you cannot increase capacity anyway. I think mega cabs tow the as they weigh the most... depends on what you are doing with it I suppose

audio1der

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7