Shopping for our first Ram & need advice related to towing specs

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

maighen

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Laramie Longhorn 3500 dually
Engine
Cummins diesel with AISIN tranny
First, I apologize in advance if any part of my query has been answered in other forums (I honestly didn't even know where to start to research it here), but I am a complete newbie both to the Dodge brand and to towing itself. What better place to research answers (aside from the Ram site) than from owner-experts? This means you! :)

I am seeking the advice of current Ram owners who have experience towing loads ranging from 10,000-15,000lbs. My husband and I will be building a tiny house on wheels on a 24' trailer designed specifically for the task. The house and trailer has an estimated dry weight of 10,500 and a max gross of 15,000lbs once loaded with personal effects. The trailer spec highlights are as follows:

Tumbleweed Trailer Specs:

Radial tires with a 6 lug hub,ST225/75/R15 LRD (4)
Gross vehicle weight rating (GVW) of 9,990lbs
Both axles have brakes
Actual Trailer Width: 8'6"
Trailer Bed Width: 6'11"
Minimum tongue length of 4'
Exterior Structure: HSS 5x2x.120
Interior Structure: C3"x3.5 per linear foot
Dexter Spring 5,200lb axle (2)
Flashing: 22 gauge galvannealed steel sheet
Seven Blade Trailer Connector for electrical wiring
Standard 2 - 5/16” ball hitch
Safety chains: rated for 7,600 each
Hitch Jack: rated to hold 2,000lbs
Scissor Leveling Jacks (4)