Weight distributing hitch and air bags together

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bspink

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Hello,
I've had a weight distributing hitch on an older truck with leaf springs and was very happy with how they worked. I've been researching air bags for my 2012 1500 to compliment a weight distributing hitch. What (if any) are the advantages of having both a weight distributing hitch and air bags?

Thanks,
Bob

maxx442

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2022 Ram 3500
Engine
6.7 H.O.
They worked well together on my 2015 Ecodiesel. I adjusted the WDH for proper axle weight distribution and the aired up the bags just enough to level the truck out nicely. I used Timber Grove bags and they were awesome. You can adjust the air pressure while loaded. Firestone brand, and some of the other "in the coil" bags, have to be adjusted prior to loading or they will be damaged.

ddetta88

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I just installed airbags and have a weight distribution hitch for my travel trailer but haven't towed it yet or re adjusted the hitch or anything so I am interested in this topic

My buddy uses airbags with his and says it makes a huge difference

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

EJR_3

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7L Cummins
I have both, and from my experience it varies on your setup.

My first trailer was a 18' open car trailer. It squatted when loaded and my TLC bags leveled out the truck when I air them up. Total weight was under 5k lbs so a WDH wasn't needed.

With my new 24' enclosed trailer with loaded and WDH set up, my truck doesn't sag. This with my bags deflated to the minimum pressure. The WDH (should) distribute some of the weight to the front axle to level the ride out.