Leaf springs

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Labman2000

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hello, Its my first time posting here, and I really hope someone can help me. With me with my question. Here goes, I purchased my 2004 dodge Ram 1500 single cab shortbed with a 4.7L about a year ago and so far it has been a real good truck. I have never really had to pull anything much with it or haul any big loads, although when i have had to haul something It always seemed to show the load more than i thought it should be dropped in the rear. And when not loaded it sits level to maybe slightly down in rear.
I recently bought a camper, which I know is too much for this truck itprobably 7-800 pounds tounge wt. but when hooked it to my truck without even putting all the wt. down on it. It sunk it down to the rubber stops on the axle..I really dont think it should be that weak.
Now here is where my question comes in. When i looked at the leaf springs without a load on them they are basically flat. And there are only 3 leafs per side..long top one hooked to mounts, one shorter under it. And a much shorter one under it that which to me looks upside down because its ends are def. curved to the ground.. So basically the load only supported by two basically near flat leafs.. Is this correct? Or is something not right here? Has someone fooled with it? And how should it be?
Sorry so long.. I just diddnt want to miss anything. Thanks

ybnormal70

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
You should have 4 leaf springs total on each side. Sounds like you are missing one of the 2 middle springs. The overload does point down like you described.

L8r,

Kevin

emjohn4

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Regular cab, short bed truck?

Wonder if the overload spring was removed to "lower" / level the truck by the previous owner. It happens.