Puttng 1st Gen Body onto 3rd gen Frame

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Yoox_II

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
I have been pondering the idea of putting the body of my 84 d150 onto a 3rd Gen 1500 ram 4x4. What all would be involved with this? The reason I am considering it is because I have been driving my current 84 for 4 years now. The transmission is starting to cop out, the front end is loose and louder than the cherry bomb exhaust when I hit bumps, and I am getting tired of the sluggish acceleration and bad gas mileage.
Would I need to find a single cab frame of a 3rd Gen, or would a quad cab frame work as well? I'm just thinking about the placements of the body mounts and the length of the wheel base and stuff. By the way, I would be keeping ONLY the body and interior components of the first gen. Everything else would be the 3rd Gen... (chassis, suspension, engine, transmission, etc). It would be sweet to have the style of a first gen with the dependability and efficiency of a newer pickup. Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome!

PS
When it all comes down to it, if you strip down a 30 year old dodge and a 10 year old dodge, the frames will be fairly similar, right? There is only so much that an automaker can change with the shape of a frame.

codered

Reaction score
Ram Year
1998 QCSB
Engine
magnum 5.9/360
I have been pondering the idea of putting the body of my 84 d150 onto a 3rd Gen 1500 ram 4x4. What all would be involved with this? The reason I am considering it is because I have been driving my current 84 for 4 years now. The transmission is starting to cop out, the front end is loose and louder than the cherry bomb exhaust when I hit bumps, and I am getting tired of the sluggish acceleration and bad gas mileage.