Intake for my 84 W150

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bruin27

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
318 5.2
I'm a newbie with this truck, always liked the looks so I picked one up. It looks like its already set up for some kind of cold air intake as there's supposed to be a duct from the intake housing to a vent in the front. Can I just remove the entire stock housing and replace with an aftermarket one like the picture I attached?

Theres a bunch of stuff like the "electronic fuel system control" box, duct going to the headers, just curious if I can remove all this.

I tried doing a search but didnt see anything similar but if anyone has done this before can you please give me some details. Thanks!

Attachments

• image5.jpg
    image5.jpg
    85.5 KB · Views: 116
  • image6.jpg
    image6.jpg
    74.2 KB · Views: 99
  • image7.jpg
    image7.jpg
    50.4 KB · Views: 94
  • 865-728_2.jpg
    865-728_2.jpg
    11.4 KB · Views: 264

RonJon '06

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014, 1985
Engine
6.7, 360
You have the lean burn system and that control box needs to stay since it controls your spark. I don't have any experience with it but if you search "lean burn" there are some threads that can tell you how to convert it to a better more updated ignition control system. If you have any more questions post them up and I'm sure someone will be along to help you out. Welcome to RF.

OP
OP
B

bruin27

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
318 5.2
You have the lean burn system and that control box needs to stay since it controls your spark. I don't have any experience with it but if you search "lean burn" there are some threads that can tell you how to convert it to a better more updated ignition control system. If you have any more questions post them up and I'm sure someone will be along to help you out. Welcome to RF.