2011 RAM 3500 cracked frame suggestions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

3duard

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
DIR 6.7L

drittal

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
My guess is go to a welding/fab shop and have it welded and reinforced in that area. I'd also check the other side in that same area for cracking or signs of stess/fatigue.

Good luck!

smurfs_of_war

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Look up member Jimmy68- he just did a post a while back doing some frame fabrication on a 5500. I'd bet he could tell you what needs to be done. Pretty sure Ram would tell you to kick rocks given the mileage. I am fully confident it can be fixed, although it sure looks like a really clean break- which leads me to wonder if there was a poor section there to begin with? I dunno- I am no expert.

Last edited:

avolnek

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Ram 2500 CCLB
Engine
My guess is go to a welding/fab shop and have it welded and reinforced in that area. I'd also check the other side in that same area for cracking or signs of stess/fatigue.

Good luck!

I second this. It is more common than a guy would think. Take it to a decent welding shop and have them plate it and weld it. There are many companies out there that will stretch mega cab short boxes into long boxes so cutting the frame and welding it is being done on a regular basis. Just a right and wrong way of doing it of course...

Jimmy68

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.2L Magnum
Very common repair. Pull the tank, pull the box (not necessary but helpful, jack the frame level, prep and weld with 7018, plate it.
Plenty of welding shops and body shops could fix this. Easy fix. Figure on two days.
Your paying for time so anything you can do will help, like remove your box.

Skrap

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Laramie MegaCab 4x4
Engine