2017 2500 Top Speed

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Kyroptorin

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4L Hemi
I'm a newbie truck owner and have a 2017 Ram 2500 with a 6.4l. I was wondering if anyone can give me some advice. So every once in a while maybe 3-5 times a week of I'm just frustrated with drivers that don't know the left lane is for cars passing or if I just want a little thrill I give my car the juice. The engine roars and the thing takes off like someone lit a fire under its ass. I've topped it out once or twice at 104 which had a surprisingly low RPM lowerd down to about 2000 at 104mph (on a completely clear road of course). I was wondering though if goosing the engine like that will hurt it at all. I know redlining it will and I know that extended periods of very high RPMs will but I was wondering how tough the engines on these trucks are and how much punishment it can take. The truck only has 7,000 miles in it.

SouthTexan

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
408 CTD
It would hurt the trans more than the engine especially flooring it while in 6th gear causing to abruptly down shift to 2nd. High rpms will generally not do too much damage to modern engines as long as the oil is at operating temp when you do get on it and it is changed regularly. Rule of thumb, don't be too rough on your engine for the first 10-15 from a cold start. It takes about that much time for the engine oil to get to operating temp and if it is not at operating temp when you are at high rpms then the viscosity will be too thick to properly coat the entire engine causing excessive wear.

Iron Outlaw

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
These motors are made to pull at high rpm. I think running like that empty wouldn't do anything to it.