Converting back to RAM from GM....help me decide

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

89BLK5OH

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hello everybody,

I was a previous ram owner ('05 1500 QC 5.7 4x4)...liked the truck a lot....but got sick of the hemi tick and other front suspension and steering issues...

I am a professional Automotive Technician and I hate having to repair my own vehicle...after the Ram I purchased a new 2013 Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab 4x4 6.0L w 3.73 gear.....I work on these trucks frequently, have a repair contract with a large construction company who has a couple hundred of these GM trucks.....very reliable, tough truck that impressed me.

At the time I really liked the Ram 2500....but didn't want to get into another ticking 5.7L.....or deal with potential death wobble/ front end issues with the '03-'13 chassis....So I went to Chevy.

But....I've never been a fan of how it drives...always felt sluggish and under powered....I even have a custom tune....still not happy....the 4.10 gear was near impossible to find on a lot...and a Duramax was not in my budget.

So, I've been thinking about going back to a Ram 2500 with a 6.4L with a 4.10, maybe even a power wagon. I've been doing a lot of reading in the 6.4L thread.

I'm trying to sort out a test drive with a 6.4L RAM 2500....also a bit hard to find with a 4.10.....may just have to drive a power wagon.

On paper the ram seems like more truck for your money. They stepped their game up, with the new chassis, coil spring rear, 11.5 AAM rear axle and 6.4L.

Anybody have experience with both trucks (GM HD & RAM HD) ???? Driving impressions ???? Any input or opinion is appreciated.

Sorry for the story, thanks in advance. :favorites13:

lpfm1990

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7