Lost in the Heavy Duty Sauce

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

VicViper

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hey y'all, Im still getting acquainted with my 14' 3500 ST I bought a few weeks ago...I'm a truck driver so I don't get to drive it often.

I just need a little information on how my truck is equipped...this is the second pickup I've ever owned, my first was a 94 F150 back in 08 so I'm a bit rusty on how well newer trucks are equipped. I searched the Internet for specific specs on my truck but the configurations on differing models were too broad in scope.

Here's my known configuration: used 2014 3500 ST SRW 4x4 with 6.4, 31k miles, crew cab with 6.5 ft bed

1. How can I tell which rear end I have? Is it stamped on the diff cover?
2. My radio has an old school "calculator style" display, How can I tell which Uconnect system I have. (I'm guessing 3.0)
3. I know these heavy duty trucks ride pretty high even with stock suspension, but I feel like mines is higher than normal, it has 31's on but how can I tell if it has a leveling kit or lift on it?
4. My transmission creaks when I put it in reverse or drive...but it shifts smoothly while driving, is that sound normal or should I be worried?

Markcuda

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015-Laramie-1500-CC-4X4
Engine
I think, on the 2500/3500, there may be a thin metal tag attached by a differential cover bolt, if so, the gear ratio will be on it.

OP
OP
VicViper

VicViper

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Wow great help! Thanks guys, I'm actually pretty surprised that I can look up my build specs...That's awesome.

3.73 stock rear
3.0 Uconnect
66RFE

Best part is it was shipped and sold in TN, so it's been in my state the whole time. That's pretty cool.

I'm wanting to go 4.10 gears and an aisin trans...or maybe a Allison will go in there?

monteholic

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 hemi