Moving from a 2nd Gen Dakota

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

patchelect

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I'm in the process of trying to decide if I want to make the jump to a RAM. I have been driving Dakota's for 27 years having the first gen and now a 2nd gen. I currently have an '01 4X4 club cab with the 3.9 V6. For the most part the truck has been great. The issues I currently have are the seriously peeling clear coat and a minor rust issue over the rear wheels. The truck only has 73K on the clock and I'm pretty good at keeping things repaired or serviced. I actually love the way it handles under all conditions and it's great in the snow, at least the snow we get on Long Island. I'm relocating to the Berkshires in retirement and my wife is nudging me to get a RAM. (I help the situation because I've loved the look of the 4th gen since it hit the streets!) However I have taken two test drives in two different 14 RAM's at two dealerships and I'm not positive I want to make the jump. The monetary side is secondary. I know that if I keep the Dakota I can square the paint and bodywork up for $3-3500. I also know that the Dakota could probably command near $10K if it is in excellent condition, although I wouldn't fix it to sell, just to keep. Most all of the truck is in great shape and I can see it in my driveway in another 16 years! On the other hand a RAM is way newer in time although the mileage won't be that much different. My Dakota feels connected to the road, a shortcoming I found in both RAM's I drove. It's probably the electric steering but it is something I will have to accept.

Has anyone here made a similar jump fro a Dakota to a RAM? I guess I'm being picky about things that are just "progress" but I also am one who likes the vehicle I drive to give me feedback. Maybe that's why I love my Miata!

DRkNESS