New member, soon to be owner

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tgbraley

Reaction score
Ram Year
none
Engine
none
Greetings,
I joined this site just now, as I am hoping to be a Ram owner shortly.
I'm shopping for a used Ram truck, and would appreciate any advice or tips the members on this site would be so kind as to share.
Are there any particular issues I need to look for when checking out a Ram truck before a purchase offer, anything particular to the Ram truck?
I'm new to Ram trucks, but have been a Mopar fan and owner since the late 70's, so not new to the Mopar world.

I have found a couple of 2012 Flame Red 4x4 quad cab trucks in my area I plan on checking out.

One has 93xxx miles for $19k, trailer brake controller w/tow , and 2 accidents reported on the Carfax; the other has 38xxx miles, $25k, w/tow, no controller, one owner and a clean Carfax.
Otherwise, the 2 are identically equipped. Both have the 5.7L Hemi MDS VVT.

Any hint or tips would be greately appreciated!

Thanks
Tim

MADDOG

Out Exploring Arizona
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
If it were my choice I'd spend the additional money to get the lower mileage, accident free truck.

HDMontana

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Welcome and I agree with Maddog.

HD

GsRAM

Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 Dodge Ram 2500
Engine
Hemi, 6.4L
Agreed, all else equal, I'd spring for the lower mileage truck for only 6k more. That's a big difference to me. Good luck

warbat

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 CC 4wd
Engine
What do you plan to use the truck for?

huntergreen

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
welcome, if you have the dollars, find a 13 with the 8 speed trans. if not, make sure you have at least 3:55 rear gear ratio with the six speed. 3:92 would be better.

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7