Powerwagon 4x4 not engaged

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

zeddy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
This is for a buddy of mine...

He has 2016 Powerwagon. He just called and told me he got stuck in mud winching someone out. When it was his turn to get out, only the rear tires would spin in reverse and forward. He said he had to rock the truck out. He took it out of 4wd and put it back but only rear tires would spin.

He has no lights on the dash on expect for the 4wd light (solid) when he put the shifter into 4 high. he didn't try 4 Lo. Something not engaging, anyone else go through this?

Thanks in advance.

Devin1349

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
im no mechanic but im gonna throw a guess out there and say the actuator that engages the front differential to the front drive shafts

WilliamS

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
My 2016 Powerwagon works great. 4x4 high and low no issues. Even better lock all those lockers up, you can get out of nearly anything. The front hubs, do they have a neutral on them, never looked. I think they are auto or lock but if they have a neutral setting it could be why they never spun.

OP
OP
zeddy

zeddy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
I've seen all 4 tires spin before. This is apparently the second time this is happening. First time he got stuck he said if felt like all wheels weren't spinning. He winched himself out of that one.

That winch is sure coming in real handy.

WilliamS

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7