Trans and Rear Diff fluid change questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Big Boi

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7L
Im looking for the correct info on the fluid capacites for my Ram.

09 1500 2wd Auto LSD

I wanted to have the dealer change the trans fluid and filters. But after crunching the #'s, I can buy all the fluid (I believe) from Advance for $140 using promo code WD28 (35% off). Thats 3 bottles of RP 75w140 and 6 bottles of RP Max ATF.

Now the RP 75w140 says there is no need to add the LSD modifier.... But manual calls for it. Any truth to this?

Also, Advance has Driveworks filter for the Trans filters for under $30. Thats for both filters and the gasket?

As far as gaskets... RTV for both or rubber/Felpro gaskets....

YES IM A NOOB when it comes to this stuff

loveracing1988

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
No you do not need friction modifier, you have a helical lsd which doesn't require modifier.
I believe people use RTV for the rear diff to seal it. The diffs are easy to change by yourself, so is the trans of you are just dropping the pan and changing the filter.

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi