2" rear leveling kit question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

2016 Ram Man

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Newbie here.
2016 ram crew cab 4x4 hemi
Would like to level out the rear of the truck with the front by lowering the rear. Been looking at 2" kits from McCaughey and groundforce.
1- can u cut the rear springs?
2- which kit is best?
3- are new rear shocks needed?
4- is a new panhard bar necessary?
Appreciate the input and maybe someone will benefit from all these questions answered in one place.
Thanks, Joel

Statcher1

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
2" rear leveling kit question

1. You can cut the springs. I'm not sure how much to cut the factories.

2. I ran a Mcgauhys kit. I liked it. Others ran the Belltech. Use whichever you get the best deal on.

3. You won't need new shocks.

4. No need for the relocation bracket until you go down until a 4" drop.

Also. I've got a set of 2" springs laying around my garage somewhere. If you want them. Let me set up a paypal account and we could do business. If you want.
Sent from the Rocket in my Pocket

Graygoose

Indecisive Car Owner
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Convert, for now.
Engine
small
Ran the Groundforce on my 2011, LOVED it, simple 40 minute install, sat perfectly level.
The kit comes with two new stocks, no need for alignment afterwards.

dkmesa

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
running mcgaughy's 2" drop on mine. Aligned within spec without other components. From what i hear aftermarket struts are not needed from that small of a drop, but I'm sure they will wear quicker than stock height. Ride was a little worse than stock but not much.

grozier

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
1. You can cut the springs. I'm not sure how much to cut the factories.