Bil's 5100 and rattle/noise/rough ride

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BigRed4x4

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
So.... I just had the Bil's installed and set at 2.1 on 35" ridge grapplers. A couple things I've noticed since...

1.) The front measures 39 7/8" vs the back 39 3/8".
a.) Shouldn't the back still be a bit higher than the front at 2.1?
1.) Haven't measured all 4 corners but I'll do that today.

2.) They ride harder, or more firm than stock which is fine but there is also a rattle/noise/bumping sensation when I hit small bumps in the road at any given speed. Something feels loose but I wasn't able to find anything when I crawled underneath to check. I'm no mechanic and have no experience with this type of install, fyi. I had a shot install.

There was a post on a ram facebook group about the same situation on a members truck and he mentioned the CV axle shaft going bad or possibly the new angle since the level causing this type of issue.

Any insight?

Last edited:

dan1911

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
In all likelihood they put the top nut washer in the wrong spot. It doesn't go with the nut against what most would do (myself included). I installed myself and didn't think twice about it and experienced what you are describing. Took it all down, moved the washer to the correct location, and the noise totally went away and now rides fantastic

Sent via telepathy

OP
OP
BigRed4x4

BigRed4x4

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
In all likelihood they put the top nut washer in the wrong spot. It doesn't go with the nut against what most would do (myself included). I installed myself and didn't think twice about it and experienced what you are describing. Took it all down, moved the washer to the correct location, and the noise totally went away and now rides fantastic

Sent via telepathy