Diagnosing driveline sounds give me a headache

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

OP
OP
kg93

kg93

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
If it is bearing I meant, gears are not damaged hopefully, but you will see a dark marks on inner side of the bearing face, were the rollers were running. So in that case bearing is damaged unfortunately so need to be replaced. This could make also some extra backlash on gears as pinion has moved a bit out. Which gears brand is used in your application?
Okay well hopefully it is that then. Also from looking around I saw it could be a loose pinion nut.
Either way it is at the Shop now I told them what I thought it could be. Its in their hands now since I'm not an expert at gear swaps and I paid a good amount to have it done right so now they will be fixing it.
Wish I had an older car to practice gear swaps on..not something I want to learn on my truck

I used timken bearings and motive gears. All new of course

Sent from my LG-H900 using Tapatalk

Pmexpert

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 SRT
Okay well hopefully it is that then. Also from looking around I saw it could be a loose pinion nut.
Either way it is at the Shop now I told them what I thought it could be. Its in their hands now since I'm not an expert at gear swaps and I paid a good amount to have it done right so now they will be fixing it.
Wish I had an older car to practice gear swaps on..not something I want to learn on my truck

I used timken bearings and motive gears. All new of course

Pinion nut?...hmm...maybe also! You know there was a recall regarding this pinion nut, so dealer has to install for free some kind of extra part, that fixes the nut completely. Please ask your shop to check if it was installed actually.