Level and Lift

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jsteinm1

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Ram 1500 Sport CC
Engine
HEMI 5.7L
Hey guys, I'm new to owning a truck - I bought a 2012 RAM 1500 Sport 4wd a few weeks ago. I don't like the rake on the truck, and definitely want to get it leveled but I also want to lift it some. I'd really like to put a 6" RCX Lift on it but I don't want to shell out that much money yet (maybe in a year or two). I've seen that leveling kits, Bilstein 5100s, and body lifts are reasonably priced but I have a few questions about them.

- Would you recommend a level kit (such as RCX) over the Bilstein 5100s or vice versa? What are the pros/cons of each?
- If I get Bilsteins, do I get rears also, or just fronts?
- I've seen 1.25" and 3" body lifts, what are there any cons to doing a big body lift like the 3" over an actual lift kit? I won't be going off road much.
- I intend to keep the stock 20x9 sport rims and tires (until they're worn out), do they look small/bad with the truck leveled/lifted with the above options?

Thanks for the help!

GlOcKnRaM

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L V8 Hemi
This is exactly what I went through when deciding what route I wanted to go. Personally I love my 3" body lift, the Rams hide them well! Cant even tell I have one. As for the leveling of the truck I went with an HBS kit, only like $80. Go Bilsteins if you want to spend a little more money, still levels the truck while upgrading your shock. As far as price point youll be saving around $1k going the level/body lift route rather than a 6" lift/level route. And you said you wouldnt be going offroading much and neither will I, thats why I went with a body lift!..As far as keeping your stockers, they wont look bad with a level..but throw on a body lift and they will be tiny lol.