My bilstein/mevotech review

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Hawki1cr

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Quick review (sorry no pictures)

I have zero auto mechanic experience and I did this all myself. Set the Bilsteins at 2.8 and installed mevotech ucas as well.

INSTALL: just used basic hand tools and an electric impact. And I rented a spring compressor from autozone. Total time for install was 8 hours but literally half that time was spent trying to get the upper shock nut off. They were so rusted and the metal seemed super soft. Anyway, other than that, it was easy. I used the link below for step by step instructions. Great video!

http://youtu.be/GpLJIln6VBA

I don't really have any tips. The video explains it all. Oh... Don't buy a torque wrench from harbor freight. I bought one for this project and it broke after tightening 5 bolts. Pure junk.

RESULTS: Awesome! At 2.8, my front is .5 inches higher than the rear but to the eye, it looks perfectly level. I will be adding air bags to the rear springs to help with towing.

The truck rides better than stock. Smoother. Handles bumps better. Steering seems more responsive. And ZERO wobble in 4 lock or low. Very satisfied. If you are wanting to do this, don't hesitate. It's easy and makes the truck better in every way.

BigDogg795

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Awesome! I ordered my new wheels; next is going to be the level. Which mevotech's did you go with? Rock Auto lists a "supreme" "forged" UCA for a few bucks more which I'd assume is a bit better than the standard Mevotech replacements.

R.L.K.

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 4X4 QC Express 6 speed auto 355 differentials
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Great to hear , glad to read your post Sir .