Custom tunes PRO vs CON

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Fatboy57

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
So I'm finally ready for a custom tune. Any pros or cons between companies? Would it just be best to go to the dyno? Need help. Any input would be appreciated!

Pull Ya

U.S. MARINE VETERAN
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Hemifever is a vendor on this site. He is my preferred tuner. The other tuner you will hear about on this forum is Jay Greene. I have no experience with him or his tunes. He has his followers as does Hemifever. Both do tuning using e-mail based on information you provide them. Whichever you choose, remember that communication with your tuner is the key to a successful custom tune.
Jay

MADDOG

Out Exploring Arizona
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
I used Hemifever for my 6.4L custom tune on the Diablosport platform and was very pleased with the service and results. It was easy to do and all done via email.

I've had tunes done via dyno with Diablosport software and the results were very good. I'd say using a dyno to develop a tune maybe a bit better than tunes by email but for the money, the small difference in results isn't worth it.

Txhemirt

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Biggest con for me was having to get another computer for the unlocked pcm. Other cons are warranty possibly being voided and gas mileage loss because I am driving spirited. Pros outweigh the cons, my RT feels faster than my challenger RT I had. I'm running Hemefevers 91 custom tune and my truck is more responsive and a lot funner to drive. Sent him my data log yesterday for my specific custom tune so hoping to see how it feels when I receive it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

chrism1367

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7