Had to change the water pump in my 2013

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ramflava

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins Turbo Diesel
A little bit over 36,000 miles and about 8 1/2 months after the 36 month warranty expired, I had to replace the water pump. I'm not a mechanic, but I know enough fix some things. With the help of a chilton's manual and some experience with a water pump switch on my old 2008 Dakota, I was able to complete the job is 6 hours. LOL

The biggest issue was not having the tools to separate the fan and fan clutch from the water pump pulley. I ended up renting the tools from Autozone.

Ill say the hardest part for me was figuring out how to get the fan/fan clutch out of the engine bay. I didn't realize the bottom part of the plastic e-fan housing comes off and allows the fan to come out of the bottom. I finally figured it out after an hour of fighting the e-fan and the housing. LOL

Frustrating, but educational. Chilton's manual wasn't much help (I prefer Haynes) plus it only covered up to 2012 and I'd say there are a few changes or differences.

Hootbro

U.S. Army Veteran
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 1500 Express 4x4
Engine
Pentastar 3.6L
Was it reverse threaded getting the fan clutch off?

Bass19021

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Good job! Any small repairs feel good when you're not a pro mechanic. Plus you saved some cash!

But odd to have that happen at such low mileage, right after the warranty expires. I also own a 2013, 50k miles. Hopefully just a fluke.

Bferren

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Just replaced the water pump in my 09. Took a little while for the same reasons lol. Wanting to do away with the fan clutch and do an e-fan at some point. The threads were reversed. Thought it was a blown head gasket at first... thankfully just the pump at 127k miles.

jasonw