Help out with some knowledge, I'm struggling - exhaust, tuner, CIA

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tribalsamba

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Alright so the title says the gist. With my work schedule at the nights I never really get time during the day to seal out help or do much phone calling. I'm new to upgrades really and im looking to upgrade my exhaust, install a CIA, and possibly nab a tuner to help. I've pretty much decided on the S&B over vararam for the cleanliness and look. As for exhaust I'm lost, most of my looking in dealers I see stuff like the flow master American Thunder cat back for my 2012 express 5.7. But all my reading on here I just see muffler replacements? I don't want to break the bank so can I save on just muffler replacement or do I need the whole cat back set up since the oem muffler is roughly the size of a casket...now with these i know having a tuner will help me work on mpg and performance. Since I run interstate daily for work Id like to have an easy way to switch to a better mpg set up and then When I want some fast fun switch to a performance tune. I know there's alot of info out there for this but limited to using my phone for research at work it's tough. Is there a tuner I can get that's less than the diablos and bully dogs that'll work better just for my application since i don't plan on changing much else - cams headers etc...? Thanks for the help!

Etroze86

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Welcome to the forum and great choice on CAI.
The muffler will be fine to replace as long as you aren't looking for doing a complete bolt on build or adding a supercharger as the stock exhaust flows pretty well.