Misfire of cylinder number 3

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Joe A.

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hello to everyone here..I'm new to site and have some questions about the problem I'm having with my 2011 Ram Bighorn..5.7 liter with MDS.. I bought it used 3 mnths ago and of course the warranty is up and I'm having a misfire in cylinder number 3..I've changed the plugs/coil pack/injector...no broken rocker arms/valve springs...etc... I did compression test and have a little over 150lbs in 4 of the cylinders I have checked..I checked 1 and 3 and 2 and 4 cylinders...I was told that having the wrong weight oil can cause a misfire..that it messes with the sensors or something to that effect..so I'm changing oil tomorrow mornin... now at an idle it's a little rough...and even going really easy up the,rd it's ok somewhat. But soon as I step on it a little harder to pass someone or get on highway the check engine light symbol that stays on all the time starts flashing and the truck starts running really rough and I lose power and pull over and shut it off right away..so it only happens when under a load...I'm at my wits end with this damn truck.. anyone have any other info that may help me? I really appreciate any help..thnx much

stoviAZ

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Can you hear the engine misfiring? The tick?

Sent from my LG-H910 using Tapatalk

yoda

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
Pull valve cover on that side, have someone turn the motor over with a ratchet on the crank pulley, (Easier if you remove a spark plug on each cylinder) measure valve lift on cyl#3. compare to cylinder next to it.
Sounds like a cam lobe worn

shane1981

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
^^^^ this. and ive never heard of oil weight causing a misfire .

tuned by jay greene

OP
OP
J

Joe A.

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine