New to the Performance Side of Rams

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dantheman

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hey guys, I'm new to the performance side of rams so take it easy on me. I'm wanting to get a little more out of the 5.7 than what I'm getting now. I want to balance mpg and performance but I'm lifted so I'm obviously not too concerned about mpg. But I'm curious about what is best for me. As my signature says I already have the mopar cai (no big deal) but I'm wanting to do a little more. I've read a little about full cat back exhaust, long/short tube headers, cam swap, tuner, gear swap, stall converter, etc. I just don't know where to start. But I would like to stay away from the gear swap for now until I can run down the older style front axle housing. Hopefully you more experienced guys can help me a little. Thank you in advance!

Also, if mopar makes any performance parts that fit those would be nice too. I get a pretty hefty discount on anything mopar :naughty:

Last edited:
OP
OP
Dantheman

Dantheman

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Maybe I should rephrase... So the basics I know are CAI (already have one), diablo trinity with hf and 87mm ported throttle body. But beyond that I'm not very knowledgable. I'm not looking to run 100+ on a track, I drive this everyday and it sees some pretty rough roads and heavy towing. So I'm looking for a little more torque and maybe slightly speed it up. I've read a little about procharger but I'd like to upgrade the transmission before I throw anything else at it on top of the heavy tires that are already on. I'm holding off on the gear swap because I have a little something in the works that'll change that (and fit 40s :superhack:).

Pull Ya

U.S. MARINE VETERAN
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi