TIPM help, OBD II code P0481

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sunkiz

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hello Board:

Newbie here, and would like to seek information on TIPM repair and replacement option.

I currently own a 2011 RAM 1500 Big Horn Crew Cab 4X4. I bought my truck to my local mechanic to address a Check Engine Light P0481 (Cooling Fan 2 Control Circuit) code and according to my mechanic, the radiator fan was running constantly and burned out. He replaced the fan but its still triggering the CODE. My mechanic stated that all the relays checked out fine, and therefore now pointing at the TIPM as the culprit.

Understanding how expensive a new TIPM is, what is my option? and wondering if anyone here had experience similar problem, may be I can locate a USED TIPM from a junk yard and have the dealership reprogram it. ($175+ the cost of a used TIPM) Thanks in advance.

My truck has been out of service for a month, and really would like to get this problem resolved. Any help or suggestion is greatly appreciated.

Anthony.

Dodge4x4810

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
It is hard to say without looking at it. When I fix a customer's car, I never go by what another mechanic said, in case they made a mistake or missed something. So, I always start from scratch. First thing to rule out, your truck is not reading hot is it? That will make the fans stay on all the time, if so. But, if not...