Tracking my Ram's Mpg usage and costs

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Sir John

Reaction score
Ram Year
2016 1500 Rebel "Mopar 16" Special Edition
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I thought this would be kind of interesting, since I'm a developer/programmer (analyst) by trade my nerdy side of me thinks like this. I created a very simple spreadsheet that tracks my mpg usage and cost per fill up. I only have 18 fill ups since I bought the truck at the beginning of June. Except where noted, I drive this truck the same exact commute 4 days a week (about 70 miles round trip per day). On the weekends, the truck normally doesn’t move. My normal commute is about 65% hwy and 35% city driving. Except when I have road rage, I’m pretty light on the pedal. If it’s not obvious, this is all hand calculated data. I‘m going to keep recording this data for as long as I have the Ram. I’m curious to see how my mpg dives in the winter time like all of my other vehicles have.

Attachments

• Gas data.jpg
    Gas data.jpg
    94.9 KB · Views: 73
  • Gas cost trend graph.jpg
    Gas cost trend graph.jpg
    46.2 KB · Views: 60
  • Mpg trend graph.jpg
    Mpg trend graph.jpg
    50.9 KB · Views: 65
Last edited:

Caldwell

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7L
that is the best tracking of MPG I have seen so far.

I wish we could get no ethanol gas in philly, and that would make my numbers alittle better. How long are you typically going between fill ups. ? Im filling up about every 280-300 miles roughly, and that lasts me about 11-12 days.

mmwaggie

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
You should check out the fuelly app. You can track all this with a nice user interface on your phone :) Great looking spreadsheet though!

C3ntury

Reaction score
Ram Year
2009 Ram 1500 CC Sport
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Agreed, another satisfied Fuelly-er :]

OP
OP
Sir John

Sir John