LED Turn Signal/Brake problem

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

USMC1188

Reaction score
Ram Year
None
Engine
Truckless...
I have been running Anzo Taillights for about 2 years with no problems at all.

This problem arose around the same time I had a short in the wiring to my taillight, but that has since been repaired, and all of the wiring reads as it should on a multimeter.

This only happens sometimes... there is no real pattern to it. All lights work as they should.
When I hit the brakes or left turn signal, I will get a lamp out ding in the cab, but no lamp out light.
Also with the left turn signal, I will get the fast flash as well.

Now... for the wiring of the taillight. There is a little black box inline that came with the lights that is before the taillight itself. I assume that it is basically a resistor to fool the ECM that it is getting enough power and all bulbs are functioning properly. In this case, with the LEDs, they don't take as much power, so the resistor is necessary to equal out to the necessary power in order to not set off the lamp outs.

So the question is, what do you guys think? Does this problem sound like it could be in the taillight itself or that black box, or is it another short that I need to narrow down?

Here are the lights I am running:
ANZO USA | DODGE RAM 1500 06-08 / RAM 2500/3500 07-09 L.E.D TAIL LIGHTS BLACK - Tail Lights

lone12star

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I had the same issue on my 04, it would chime, then turn off a few minutes later. I never figured out what the issue was

Sent from the MOPAR gods!

OP
OP
USMC1188

USMC1188

Reaction score
Ram Year
None
Engine
Truckless...
What did you end up doing?

Did you have factory taillights? Or LEDs?

lone12star

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7