Symptom of a misaligned clockspring?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ceri

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I've been rebuilding an '05 on my weekends for the last 3-4 months. I rebuilt the front suspension right away as it needed it bad and I was aiming for driveable as quickly as I could get it. I did everything and got the truck driving a good bit tighter (still a few things I may need to revisit), and took it to get aligned. I picked it up at the close of the day and the truck was pulling left.

Some time passed before I could take it back in (work schedule and store hours conflict), and I decided to replace the clockspring due to a non-functional horn and steering wheel controls. Seemed like the right move. When I pulled the wheel I discovered that the previous owner must have been in there before me. The windshield wipers weren't functioning 100% correctly either. I suspect he replaced the windshield wiper/turn signal wand in an effort to fix the issue, and possibly the clockspring. The steering wheel controls had been yanked out of their connector (connector still attached to the clockspring). I rigged that up with some make-do connectors from Auto Zone, and plugged the horn back in. I went ahead and installed the clockspring making sure to keep the wheel lined up correctly. Steering wheel controls work again. Horn works again. Wipers work again after taking the motor apart and cleaning the contact surfaces. Wheel feels fine when I'm not driving and rotates to full lock without issues in both directions.