Truck shuts off while driving...help!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

LPSPEED2

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hi everyone, I am still pretty new to this whole owning a "real truck" thing. I have searched the web for some answers but havent really found a definitive answer, so here I am. From what I have read online, this is actually an issue that has been reported more often than i'd like to see. So here is the issue:

While driving, usually while slowing down or turning at low speeds (below 25 MPH), my truck just shuts off and leaves me coasting with no power brakes or power steering (very dangerous in traffic). I am quickly able to put it in neutral and if starts back up immediately with no hesitation.

This has happened 6 times in the past 24 hours and has me very concerned as I live in the Chicago area and there is always a lot of traffic around me and I dont want to stall in a dangerous point for myself or anyone around me.

I have had the battery and alternator tested, they both checked out fine.

Key notes:
2004 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 4x4 5.7 Hemi Sport 69,000 miles.
When the truck stalls, there is no sputter, or struggle, it is instant.
The truck has been feeling slightly underpowered the past 2 days.
NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR CODES
When the truck stalls, all lights, radio, & gauges (except rpm) stay on, lit, and fully functional with no flicker or change.
This issue has only happened at lower speeds, while slowing down or turning.
I had the truck run on idle for a long time afterwards to see if it would hesitate or stall while im parked and it did not do anything.
I have read that it can be any of the following(but none have been a proven fix): EGR, throttle body clogged, air filter clogged, fuel filter, fuel pump, crank position sensor, PCM needs reflash, battery, alternator, and possibly more.