question about exterior paint..

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nim81

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
now, im a professional painter...of houses, not vehicles.
but i had the guy paint my hood and the paint doesnt match even after giving him exact paint code and testing blah blah blah.. its almost like a freaking blue compared to the rest of my truck...

sooo.. my question is, would i have to sand all the clear coat off the hood and reprimer it? or can i primer over the clear with some light sanding? im going to do the raised ram air intake part black :naughty: and re-do the white to match my truck. ive picked up some color match paint that looks way way better than what the "professional" did. any tips or advice would be appreciated! thanks!

BTW the hood is fiberglass if that matters..

adamwilkes14

Reaction score
Auto paint is so touchy sometimes even if you get the same paint code paint, the difference in the match is the painter and conditions...

If you watch most frame off restorations they will paint all the items in the booth at the same time. Cause painting them at diff times the shades can be off, even though it's the same paint.

OP
OP
nim81

nim81

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
i understand what your saying.. so do you think it would even be worth my time trying this myself? or should i just live with the blueish tint on the hood?

adamwilkes14

Reaction score
i understand what your saying.. so do you think it would even be worth my time trying this myself? or should i just live with the blueish tint on the hood?

meh, it's all up to you really...if you can live with it, then why bother...if it bugs you out, then try it out. But you would be hard pressed to find a respray or partial spray that matches 100%

OP
OP
nim81

nim81

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year