Bad throttle body?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rhoadsrocker

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7l
Hey guys. Was gonna try this "mystical seafoam" in my 05 5.7l and noticed when it was running that the valve in the throttle body doesnt open. Even had my brother in law try hammering the gas for a second and the valve wouldnt budge. It opens easily when you push it so im assuming that it must be a problem with the electronics. Anyone else had this issue? My basic question here is can i just buy a new throttle body here and put it on? Or does it have to be "re-learned" or anything like that before installation?

BigBlue05

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
I'm no expert but It shouldn't have to relearn anything for a throttle body.

OP
OP
R

rhoadsrocker

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7l
Okay. I wouldn't thint it would either. But ive heard people say it does because that throttle has to be synced to the truck to open and close the valve when the accelerator is applied. But then again. I dont have a ton of knowledge on the throttle system.

charonblk07

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
F1-A forged 349ci
The TB/PCM do an auto calibration every time the battery is reconnected, you should see the butterfly valve open all the way then return to neutral position the first time it fires up. At idle, the butterfly valve is only open a tiny bit because it has a very low demand for air and in park the butterfly valve opens very little when throttle is applied. If the truck is running/driving fine then there is nothing wrong with the throttle body. Now, is the engine not running at all? or are you worried that when it's idling the butterfly valve is not open?