Cooling system issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

eddie_money86

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
Hello everyone, im new to this so please bear with me. I have a 2006 ram 1500 with a 5.7 hemi in it. The last couple of days ive had some cooling system issues. It started with a pinhole leak in the radiator. I bought alumaseal stopleak until i could replace the radiator in a week, and it stopped the leak. However, i have an over heating problem now. The first start of the day seems to have the worst problem. It gets almost to the red line if i dont turn my heater on. After that it fluctuates between the middle line and 3/4 to hot, regardless of my driving distance or even if the ac is on. I want to replace the radiator and t stat hoping that will alleviate the issue. Has anyone ever experienced something like this? The autozone guy was adamant out wasn't because of the stop leak since heater and everything else still worked. Im kind of at a loss. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

Ajwalk2008

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Any stop leak additives can become a pain in the ass. Did you do a system flush when you installed the new radiator?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
OP
E

eddie_money86

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
No i didn't flush the system. The coolant looked clean and free of any debris or miscoloring. I bought the truck in july they said the coolant had been flushed and filled recently but im not sure thats true.

Ajwalk2008

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I personally never have liked stop leak products. Coolants not too expensive. Would flush is any way since you added the stop leak

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RonJon '06

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014, 1985
Engine
6.7, 360