How to replace ECM 03 4.7l

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Gruff511

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
4.7l
Okay so ive come to the conclusion my engine computer is fried after talking to some people with the same issue as me.
Now I've been looking for a used replacement ecm for my 03 4.7l 2wd auto but am not sure if i need a specific one or if any 03 4.7l auto ecm will work?
Some people said i can get a used one and out it in but other people have said i need to get it reprogrammed before i put a different one in? How true is this?
Btw im new to these trucks so im trying to find as much info as i can.
Basically i was driving the other day and out of nowhere the truck just shuts off and will crank but wont start back up. I have fuel pressure but no spark.all fuses and relays are good and only get a cel for evap

JAMMAN

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
So far looks like any 2003 1500 ECM from a 4.7 or a 3.7 will work... transmission specific. If you have an auto get one from an auto, manual/manual.

This is just from a quick internet search please check with a few others first.

JAMMAN

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
And I just found another site that says anything 3.7 or 4.7 from 2003 to 2007 should work, transmission specific. Most places want your VIN first (probably to make sure you have a 3.7 or 4.7).

Looks like it is going to be right around $160 remanned.

joepizuro

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum v10
also make sure ECU ground is good!!!

OP
OP
G

Gruff511

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
4.7l
I guess ill just get a used ec and try it. A few guys in my area said they swapped the computer and it ran but it ran like **** or didnt run so they had to get it reprogrammed. Not sure where theyd do that at but i have no other options.