Newbie questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Vytasb

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 eTorque
Hi all! I am new to Rams, but have other modded cars. I have an '03 4.7 with a flowmaster 44 in place of the stock muffler (came on the truck). I am also in CA, so I have 3 cats rather than just one. Would doing a 3" catback with a y-pipe to duals with no mufflers cause any loss of back pressure? Or do the CA cats give enough back pressure not to lose torque? Any gains by straight piping or just sound?

Casper

U.S. Navy (Ret.)
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
Back pressure is a misnomer. What you are referring to is exhaust scavenging. As gases exit the pipe they draw the gases behind along outward. So if you go too large a diameter your engine now has to not just pump the pistons, but the exhaust stroke has to work harder to push the exhaust out. That being said, you're not going to get improved performance from pulling the muffler (or reduced low end for that matter).

Make sure you are actually seeing catalytic converters (with heat shields and/or O2 sensor bungs) and not counting factory exhaust resonators as cats--I can't remember when Dodge started with the resonators on RAM trucks or if they used the same exhaust on all engines, but resonators would be inline after the muffler.

For the RF Trolls out there (you know who you are), this example is over simplified I realize, but helps to advise the OP what he's really trying to avoid.