Ram 2500 Cummins 5.9L losing motor oil & Turbo or Transmission problem?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ylekyote

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 5.9L i6
Howdy. I'm somewhat new to the diesel ownership thing. Bought a 2005 Ram 2500 (automatic transmission) with 184,000 miles on it. Previous owner said he replaced the Fuel Injectors and Glow Plugs at about 173,000 miles at the suggestion of a diesel shop. He thinks it made it perform better. Not sure if that was necessary but my gain. It's not a High Output model that I'm aware of (seen some 2004s with HO on them). It's all stock equipment on it.

I replaced the fuel filter (it was dirty, farm fuel truck) and changed the motor oil/filter and transmission fluid/filter. I've put almost 4,000 around-town miles on it since. Mostly below 45mph on dirt or local roads. I never tow with it, and previous owner said he used it to tow his 4 horse trailer to ride sometime.

I've noticed when cold (as in Summer/mild temps) the truck doesn't want to move Forward or Reverse when I initially give it considerable pedal. It just sits there and spins up, but seems to be restricted because the RPMs don't ping up as much as I'd think it would if in Neutral or Park. It blows some black smoke, but not a lot, which I gather is non-burnt fuel. This is the same whether I put it in 1st or in Drive. However, after it's warmed up for about 2 minutes it goes Reverse just fine, however to make it go forward at a reasonable rate of speed I have to manually put the selector in 1st and then Drive after I'm moving. If I put it in Drive (after warm) it's still unresponsive more than it should be, but not as badly as when cold. What are the likely causes of this?