Rocker Arms Missing -- Damage?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

phodgkins

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I am new to Dodge. I just bought a 2004 Ram 1500 with a 4.7 engine. Source is very reliable and reported that truck had lost power and exhibited all signs of a blown head gasket. Now I'm removing the rocker arms in preparation for removing the heads. Removed 2-4-6-8-1-3 no problem. However, when I get to cylinders 5 and 7. One rocker arm was never reinstalled on # 5 (I'm assuming 2 owners back) and one was left just sitting free between the lobes on #7!!!

The original plan was to pull both heads, have shop check them, decide whether to machine or replace, put it all back together and hope it starts up :)

I'm looking now for any advice on what perhaps I should be looking for damage-wise. The driver side head (1-3-5-7) does appear in worse shape (sludge and rust...sat for 5 months). Any thoughts on reworking the existing heads vs just buying replacements?

Thanks!!

fastf

Reaction score
Ram Year
2005 Ram 1500 Quad Cab SLT Thunder road
Engine
First did you buy this truck from someone and it was like that ?If so I hope it hasn't messed up the engine too.But if the engine is good I wouldn't fool having the heads redone I would go with new one with the cams and new rockers.At least you would piece of mind that the heads are right.

RonJon '06

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014, 1985
Engine
6.7, 360
Are you sure it's the head gasket? I guess its not uncommon for the rocker arms to become dislodged on the 4.7L. I'm wondering if the head gasket is fine and all you need to do is put the rocker arms back in place.

OP
OP
P

phodgkins

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine