Tranny swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Tteal235

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
So I don't think my transmission is going to make it past next winter. Also I'm not sure if there has been other threads on this but I'm curious if anyone knows some good sites or places to look for used or rebuilt transmissions and if there are any DIY tutorials out there? Feedback is greatly appreciated

ST-8

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Car-part.com. My personal opnion is to get a junkyard trans. If you can do the swap yourself you can do it for around 500-600 +/- depends where your at

OP
OP
Tteal235

Tteal235

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Do you know roughly if theres anything electrically, timing, gear set up, etc. I'd have to deal with. I'm not a super mechanic but I have an idea. I've never messed with a transmission though. Kinda intimidated by it.

HemiLonestar

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
Car-part.com. My personal opnion is to get a junkyard trans. If you can do the swap yourself you can do it for around 500-600 +/- depends where your at

THIS. It's cheaper to find a low mileage take out than to try to build/have built a stronger RFE when you start putting power to these things. Got my last one here.

Do you know roughly if theres anything electrically, timing, gear set up, etc. I'd have to deal with. I'm not a super mechanic but I have an idea. I've never messed with a transmission though. Kinda intimidated by it.