All you audio gurus..tuning advice

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kg93

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Okay i need a little advice for tuning my sub/amp and my 4 channel amp/speakers.

So some people say use a multimeter and test tones and some people say just do it by ear. I know an o-scope is best, but im not going to go buy one and im not sure if having a shop with one tune it is worth it.

How are you guys tuning your systems?

nateinva

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
2011 1500 Laramie CC
Engine
5.7L
Check out an Android app called AudioTool by jjbun and you can use your smartphone as your tuner.

I usually go by ear but had some harsh frequencies that were literally giving me a headache. This app helped me dial things into a good place and I'm no audio pro....just know what sounds good.

WilliamS

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
The best way is with a scope (DD-1) to keep the speakers and amps from clipping, this will make it sound smoother at all volumes. You can tune with a multimeter just to make sure power is at the right levels with some easy math but this will not show a clipped signal.

You can get a cheap scope off ebay/amazon for 30 bucks in a little DIY kit, and it works just fine for our purposes. If you are only going to use it this one time, make sure you have Prime, free returns <--- not that I condone such actions but if your tight on spending its great.

OP
OP
kg93

kg93

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Check out an Android app called AudioTool by jjbun and you can use your smartphone as your tuner.

I usually go by ear but had some harsh frequencies that were literally giving me a headache. This app helped me dial things into a good place and I'm no audio pro....just know what sounds good.

That app looks complicated hahaha