j1877p 2014 RCSB Audio Build

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

j1877p

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Pentastar 3.6
Well, I'm going to apologize in advance because this build will take me much more time than I would like, and as such there will not be regular updates quite as often as some would prefer. I am not a patient man and this install will definitely be testing my patience. This thread will act, not only as timeline but, as research for the build.

I have been into home and mobile audio since the 90's and have had a system in every vehicle since my first car ('86 Chevette........stop laughing). I have never ran an active system but will be with this build. I am by no means an expert, far from it, and welcome suggestions and opinions.

So I am in the research phase of my build and I can give you some details or guidelines.

1. I will be keeping the 8.4a, with added navigation intact
2. I will be re-using some equipment from previous systems
3. I will be at least for now keeping a mostly stock appearance
4. This will not be a straight sound quality nor straight SPL build
5. I listen to all kinds of music from Hip-hop, Rock, Pop, Electronic, occasionally country and everything in between

To answer the questions from #2 above, lets list the equipment I already own that could potentially find their way into this build.

1. JL Audio HD900/5 amp x1
2. JL Audio XD500/3v2 amp x1
3. JL Audio 12w3v3-2 sub x1
4. Polk Audio db6501 components x1

Everything is subject to change and this is just a starting point due to me already owning this equipment. I am already thinking of changing the components.....we'll see.

If I keep everything, this is what I am thinking....
From the 900/5
2 channels to the db6501 mids in the front doors
2 channels to mids in the dash (TBD)
sub channel to the 12w3 in a sealed enclosure

From the 500/3